Six Foot Gallery’s Residency Award was established in 2011 in honour of the late Cathy Richmond, a much loved lecturer of the Glasgow School of Art.

The Artist in Residence Programme now takes place yearly in July through open call. Six Foot is proud to support the development of emerging creative practitioners. The Residency offers the winner a 24 hour access studio in Glasgow’s City Centre and the opportunity for a solo exhibition as part of our exhibition programme.

Residency Programme 2017

Artist Kirsty Boutle was our most recent Artist in Residence at Six Foot Gallery.

Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 21.58.06.pngKirsty Boutle’s practice uses drawing, painting and sculpture as a material interrogation of the body; an insatiable desiring and viscerally maniacal machine. Questions of merging and intertwining; the reciprocal actualisation of virtual states in, on and through a body. An intimate examination of the emergence of subjectivity brought about by transfigurative encounters with other forms and forces.

During her residency Kirsty created a series of small and detailed drawings and paintings, focusing on the exploration and combination of one or two repeated motifs within her recent 2 dimensional works which featured in her recent exhibition Eilidh McPherson with Visceral Absurdities at the Patriothall Gallery, Edinburgh.

Kirsty’s exhibition at Six Foot Gallery: TROPICANA PONY // Kirsty Boutle

Past Residents:                                                                                                                                        Terri Long – January 2016
Mark Connolly – January 2015                                                                                                               Victoria Shennan- July 2014
Jen Bradley- January 2014                                                                                                                       Sally Booth – July 2013
Michael Lee – January 2013
Victor Skinovskie – July 2012
Kit Kingsbury – January 2012                                                                                                               Rowan Richardson – July 2011                                                                                                                 Holly Wilcox and Hannah Rose – January 2011